Whole30: Day 1

Today was the first day of my second Whole30. So, naturally, it was a long and pretty terrible day that made me crave every junk food under the sun. And a large glass of wine.

Without going into great detail, my day included (but was not limited to): endless lines, terrible customers who wanted to tell me about how pissed they were that some idiot cut them off at the drive-thru, consequentially extremely high drive-thru times, near-emotional breakdowns, and way too many machines that beep in some form or another. Sounds like fun, huh? I made it through though, thanks to a solid team and the thought of coming home to a snuggly, sweet kitty. Needless to say, though, the last thing I wanted to do when I got home was cook anything and Moe’s happens to be pretty close to where I live… I resisted, however, even though I could probably get something Paleo there. I allowed myself some pity-me time of crawling into bed and watching several episodes of Arrested Development (I just discovered this show… why had no one told me about it before?? It’s hilarious!) and then made myself get up and cook dinner. So, day one was a success!

The menu
Breakfast: A “breakfast bowl” which is comprised of sweet potatoes, sautéed kale, and eggs. I eat this pretty much every day for breakfast, and just change up the ingredients to keep it fresh. It’s an easy fix for bringing my breakfast to work with me.
Lunch: Half of a stuffed acorn squash.
Snack: I didn’t get a chance to eat my snack today because, reasons (work reasons).
Dinner: Buffalo Chicken Pasta (recipes can be found on one of my fav Paleo blogger’s websites here). It was my first time trying this particular recipe, and though it didn’t turn out as good as hers looks it was still pretty tasty. For “dessert” I had a sliced tomato and avocado. Nom nom.

I’m sorry I don’t have any clever work stories or funny things to say–especially this being my second post and all. I’m legitimately too tired tonight to be very witty. So I will sign off and hope that tomorrow will be better and I will have more amusing anecdotes to tell.

Good night!

One thought on “Whole30: Day 1

Leave a Reply

