Whole30 Day 2: In a hurry

I could have written this post earlier, when I got home from work at noon. I could have even after I had relaxed for a bit and done some chores, and then written the post with plenty of time to spare. But, no. I decided to wait until 10 minutes before I need to leave to go to a birthday party. Story of my life.
So this entry will be be brief and to the point.

I probably picked the most inopportune time to start a Whole30. Not that there’s really a good time, because you can find excuses to not do one at any time. But due to a variety of circumstances, staying true has been a challenge. I’ve come to understand that eating is a form of comfort for me; I suspect it’s that way with most people. On some level, I think it can be OK. But when you find yourself gravitating towards certain (unhealthy) foods continually when you’re stressed or upset or down it becomes a problem. An ugly term: self-medicating. I don’t want to eat to make myself feel better. I don’t want to eat to make my problems disappear. I want to find a better way to deal with stress and worry and life not going the way I wanted it to. Inopportune as it may seem, hopefully I can learn how to cope in better ways during the next month while I try to discipline myself against old habits. They die hard, ya know. Even when you’ve been eating well for nearly a year a half. Those ugly habits will resurface and resurface. I don’t think they’re ever going to fully go away, but I can try to prevent them from running my life.

OK, now I’m going to go to a birthday party. Eating out can be dangerous territory, but I’m prepared!

Today’s menu
Breakfast: Breakfast bowl (sausage, potatoes, and kale)
Lunch: Balsamic pork, sautéed zucchini noodles and homemade mayo
Dinner: Probably steak fajitas (minus all the stuff I can’t have)

Leave a Reply

