Whole30 Day 12

Still feeling the sugar cravings a lot today.
I want chocolate. So much of it.

I’ve also been pretty starving the past few days, which is not necessarily unusual for me (I’m always hungry, geez) but it’s been a little bit worse than the usual. I try to ensure that I’m incorporating good proteins and fats in each meal–along with oodles of veggies–so that I get full and stay that way… It’s just not been working out so well for some reason. A little frustrating when I’m at work and can’t do much about the hungry thing until I get to take a break (of which I only take one or two).

I thought about quitting my Whole30 today. I really did. I thought, “I’ve made it 11.5 days. That’s pretty good. I can stop here.” But then I remembered that I committed to writing a post every day on this blog during my month of clean eating, and I thought how completely lame it would be if I jumped on here today and was all “Oh, yeah, I quit. NBD.” It would be pretty pathetic, let’s be honest. I can make it 4 weeks-ish without eating chocolate, cheese, and ice cream. I can. Just because I don’t want to doesn’t mean I shouldn’t; as I mentioned last post, it’s doing these sorts of things that are hard and that I don’t often want to do that help me become a better human. A better adult.
So, I will keep on clean eating and cooking like a fiend. Even if I’m tired or craving all the foods or want to take the easy route. I’m going to make it 30 days!

In the vein of “life is hard,” I found this hilarious video that aptly describes a lot of my feelings the past week or two. You know how it is when you’re in the midst of something hard and you log onto to Facebook? Yeah, no one on FB has that problem. In fact, here they all are waving their perfect little flags with their perfect little smiles and their perfect little pictures in their perfect little lives.
OK, exaggeration.
But it’s really easy to see that thing you want in everyone else’s lives, and it’s not necessarily just being engaged (like in the video). It can be job envy, family envy, materialistic envy, whatever. On FB it’s so easy to see those things that we want and fail to realize that it’s only a snapshot of that person’s life. Just because they post amazing stories all the time doesn’t mean their lives are constantly amazing.
For me, when the want gets to be too much I usually try to take a break. I honestly only have the problem with the “wants” when it comes to that particular site, so I will deactivate it for a few weeks or so until I feel like I’m in a better place. Sometimes it’s a little longer than a few weeks… the last time I deactivated was for about 6 or so months.
I don’t think it will be that long this time, but I definitely need a break. So as of this morning, my account is inactive. I’m not going to lie, I miss it a little bit already. It is a very addicting time filler! All you have to do is scroll, scroll, scroll, and you’re occupied indefinitely. Not having it around for a bit will come with some readjusting as I find other hobbies to fill the gap, such as reading (or writing!).
But I know it will be good for me to get my mind off of all of the “wants” and try to focus on what I do have. I like lists, so I’ll start now with a few things:
-A roof over my head
-A car that runs and gets me to work and other places safely
-Awesome friends that let me sit on their couch and be sad when I’m having bad days
-A steady job that provides affirmation, despite the stressfulness
-Family that loves me and provides encouragement when I need it
-A snuggly, albeit needy, kitty
-The ability to choose a healthy lifestyle, and
-The results of choosing said lifestyle

The Menu
Breakfast: Half of my breakfast bowl; we got busy right when we opened so I was only able to scarf down half of it
Lunch: The last of the spaghetti from a few nights ago
Dinner: A balsamic vinegar-marinated pork chop, steamed mushrooms and “zoodles” (zucchini noodles), and fried crispy sweet potatoes

One thought on “Whole30 Day 12

  1. chanced upon your blog. Just want to say, don’t give up and wishing you all the best. I’m learning how to ‘tend to my grass’ too and be so busy with that, i don’t notice how green everyone else’s grass is. Good luck to both of us! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

