Whole30 Day 16: Having a social life is hard

Well, that’s a bit of an overstatement. It’s just hard to make plans with people that involve food and not be slightly limited. My conversations thus far:

Them: Let’s hang out! Let’s go out to eat!
Me: Yeah, let’s!
Them: Let’s go to [insert food that I really want to eat].
Me: Ugh, I can’t eat that right now.
Them: Let’s go to [another place that serves food I really want to eat right now]. 
Me: ……

I feel like I must have had less of a social life last time I tried a Whole30, because I only ate out once during the entire month… Tonight will be my 4th or 5th time trying to go out eating with such a strict diet. Buhh.

Because I know everyone’s curious, I did make it to the writing workshop today. It was… interesting. I got there a few minutes late because I couldn’t find the coffee shop, which was a little embarrassing. But when I did arrive the only group of people there who looked like they were working on anything writing-related was a table of older men. So I did the awkward thing where I sidled up to the table and was all “Oh, is this the workshop?” Gratefully, they knew I was coming so they kind of knew who I was. But, as I said, it was bunch of older men–not one of them was younger than 40. In addition to clearly being the baby of the group I was also the lone female. There was a nice older man, the oldest of the bunch, who kept making slightly sexist remarks in my direction and I think it was for both of those reasons. He also assumed I was still in college when he asked me what I was doing with my life. But he was pretty nice, so I smiled and nodded.
It wasn’t as awkward as I anticipate it would be, to be honest. The initial meeting was definitely stressful, but once I sat down I actually felt pretty comfortable with talking about the pieces I read and giving feedback. It was almost like being back in college, sitting in the weird room at the bottom of the English and Modern Foreign Languages building that had faux brick on one side and being understood as a writer because I was surrounded by other people who wrote.
Much cheese. Such corny. Wow.
But it was true. And one of the guys there writes poetry, so it was really cool to have someone there who understood my genre.
Overall, it was a good experience. I intend to return next month with some new stuff.

The Menu
Breakfast: Actually… work was so crazy this morning, I didn’t get a chance to eat my breakfast. Or sit down for 7 hours. Bleh.
Lunch: my awesome leftover from last night’s dinner
Dinner: I think we’re going to Surin? Should be interesting. I think I’m going to try one of the stir-frys sans the sauce.

Leave a Reply

