I’m only mildly obsessed

I’d like to present a collection of pictures titled:
“Kitten helps with housework.”

Here we have the ever-helpful kitten helping me clean the kitchen by hiding under the dishwasher:

2015-05-20 14.39.02

Other activities include laying in the middle of the kitchen, scampering around my feet every time I turn around, trying to bat the dish towel out of my hand, and climbing into whatever open cabinet he can find.

2015-06-16 17.18.28

Here he is helping me get underneath the washer and dryer when I’m sweeping; he wants to make sure I find all 800 of the pieces of cat food he has scooped out of his bowl, batted around the kitchen like a hockey puck, and then lost underneath said washer and dryer.

Another popular activity that the kitten likes to help with is the laundry. Kitten loves the laundry, very much. All I have to do is open the dryer door and he comes running, ready to help fold the clothes and put them away.

Here he is doing exactly that:

2015-07-10 20.02.56

2015-07-10 20.03.46

Clearly, every item that I pick up to fold must be thoroughly batted and covered with little white kitten hairs before they can be folded and put away. It’s especially important to make sure that my black pants and shirts for work look like I rolled around in cat hairs before I showed up to sling coffee, and that my apron strings are nice and frayed from little kitten teeth. And he doesn’t just help me fold it! Kitten also helps me put the clothes away by sitting on the piles to make sure it all fits.

2015-07-16 13.07.45

But wait! Kitten doesn’t just love the laundry–he also loves making the bed!

2015-07-09 19.25.47

See how helpful he is? By sitting in the middle of the bed and preventing me from putting the flat sheet on the bed, he is making sure I see all the wrinkles in the fitted sheet that need to be smoothed out. He also likes to bury underneath the sheets like a little gopher, probably looking for lost socks and dryer sheets.

And finally, the kitten is very concerned about how I get ready in the morning.

Here he is inspecting my make-up to ensure that I am using the right kind of eye shadow and mascara:

2015-07-11 13.16.52

It’s also helpful for him to find my powder puff and bat it onto the floor a few times during the course of 5 or so minutes. This activity is especially effective at 4:30AM when I’m trying to get out the door for work.

Thanks for all your help kitten!

2015-07-08 21.35.19-2

Better take a nap to rest from all your hard work. 🙂

One thought on “I’m only mildly obsessed

Leave a Reply

